Bookish Features

Six for Sunday – May 24, 2020

#SixforSunday is a weekly meme hosted by Steph @ A Little But a Lot.

Favorite Characters from Series


1. Sabine, Bone Crier’s Moon, Kathryn Purdie

2. Fie, The Merciful Crow, Margaret Owen

3. Wren, Girls of Paper and Fire, Natasha Ngan

4. Bear, The Beholder, Anna Bright

5. Fiske, Sky in the Deep, Tricia Levenseller

6. Alessandra, The Shadows Between Us, Stephanie Garber

Bookish Features

First Lines Friday – May 22, 2020

First Lines Fridays is a weekly feature hosted by Wandering Words. The meme is based on the idea that instead of judging a book by its cover, author, prestige, we judge it instead by its opening line(s). You can check out my review of the book here!

New Orleans is a city ruled by the dead.

 


ABOUT THE BOOK

The Beautiful

Title: The Beautiful (The Beautiful, #1)
Author: Renee Ahdieh
Rating: ★★★★

In 1872, New Orleans is a city ruled by the dead. But to seventeen-year-old Celine Rousseau, New Orleans provides her a refuge after she’s forced to flee her life as a dressmaker in Paris. Taken in by the sisters of the Ursuline convent along with six other girls, Celine quickly becomes enamored with the vibrant city from the music to the food to the soirées and—especially—to the danger. She soon becomes embroiled in the city’s glitzy underworld, known as La Cour des Lions, after catching the eye of the group’s leader, the enigmatic Sébastien Saint Germain. When the body of one of the girls from the convent is found in the lair of La Cour des Lions, Celine battles her attraction to him and suspicions about Sébastien’s guilt along with the shame of her own horrible secret.

When more bodies are discovered, each crime more gruesome than the last, Celine and New Orleans become gripped by the terror of a serial killer on the loose—one Celine is sure has set her in his sights . . . and who may even be the young man who has stolen her heart. As the murders continue to go unsolved, Celine takes matters into her own hands and soon uncovers something even more shocking: an age-old feud from the darkest creatures of the underworld reveals a truth about Celine she always suspected simmered just beneath the surface.

At once a sultry romance and a thrilling murder mystery, master storyteller Renée Ahdieh embarks on her most potent fantasy series yet: The Beautiful.

Bookish Features

April 2020 Wrap Up

April

Books Read: 4

Pages Read: 1,599

Currently Reading:

Subscription Boxes:

Life:

  • Started sewing face masks

Resized_20200404_145039(1)

  • Established my Etsy
  • Got myself a Peloton 🙂

My Posts:

May

Tentative TBR:

Life:

  • Finishing up my library
  • April 2020 Paper Pumpkin
  • May 2020 Paper Pumpkin
  • Read a whole lot more!

What books did you read in April?!

Bookish Features

WWW Wednesday – May 20, 2020

WWW Wednesday is a book blog meme hosted by Taking on a World of Words where bloggers answer three questions:

What are you currently reading?
What did you just finish reading?
What are you going to read next?

Currently Reading:

Bone Crier's Moon

I am currently reading Bone Crier’s Moon (Bone Grace, #1) by Kathryn Purdie.

Just Finished:

Of Silver and Shadow

I recently finished reading Of Silver and Shadow by Jennifer Gruenke.

Reading Next:

Mirage

Next, I will be reading Mirage (Mirage, #1) by Somaiya Daud.

What’s on your WWW Wednesday this week? Be sure to comment below and I’ll check it out!

Bookish Features

Top 5 Tuesday: Top 5 Opening Lines

Top 5 Tuesday is weekly meme created by the Shanah @ Bionic Book Worm.

  1. They’ve never found the body of the first and only boy who broke my heart.
    And they never will.

The Shadows Between Us, Tricia Levenseller

2. It was one hell of a night to throw away a baby.

In the Bleak Midwinter (The Rev. Clare Fergusson & Russ Van Alstyne Mysteries, #1), Julia Spencer-Fleming

3. There was nothing in the world as magical and terrifying as a girl on the cusp of womanhood.

The Guinevere Deception (Camelot Rising, #1), Kiersten White

4. The gravedigger’s children were troublemakers.

The Bone Houses, Emily Lloyd-Jones

5. Give me the child.

The Girl the Sea Gave Back, Adrienne Young

Book Reviews

Of Silver and Shadow by Jennifer Gruenke

Of Silver and ShadowTitle: Of Silver and Shadow
Author: Jennifer Gruenke
Rating: ★★★

I received this ARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Ren Kolins is a silver wielder—a dangerous thing to be in the kingdom of Erdis, where magic has been outlawed for a century. Ren is just trying to survive, sticking to a life of petty thievery, card games, and pit fighting to get by. But when a wealthy rebel leader discovers her secret, he offers her a fortune to join his revolution. The caveat: she won’t see a single coin until they overthrow the King.

Behind the castle walls, a brutal group of warriors known as the King’s Children is engaged in a competition: the first to find the rebel leader will be made King’s Fang, the right hand of the King of Erdis. And Adley Farre is hunting down the rebels one by one, torturing her way to Ren and the rebel leader, and the coveted King’s Fang title.

But time is running out for all of them, including the youngest Prince of Erdis, who finds himself pulled into the rebellion. Political tensions have reached a boiling point, and Ren and the rebels must take the throne before war breaks out.

I’ll be honest, I’m a little over novels set in Paris. Especially when they all have to do with heists. Let’s be original, people.

Some things are worth the pain.

Ren: Silver wielder. Pit fighter. Poker con artist. Only helps the rebels to pay a debt.

Adley: Assassin. Member of the King’s Children. Fighting for her freedom.

Darek: Rebel. Seeks out Ren for her help in the fight against the Crown. Looking for revenge for his mother.

Kellen: Youngest Prince. Underground fight club owner.

 

Things I Liked:

  1. The violence. Don’t hate me! To be frank, violence doesn’t really bug me. Maybe after growing up with weekly horror movies, I’ve become immune to the gruesome. This was a nice change since most novels “soften” violence, when it wasn’t or isn’t reality.
  2. Pacing. The pacing of the book was excellent. There weren’t many “still” moments and there was never a point where I felt bored by the story. What I really enjoyed was that there was a mix of short and long chapters, not a standard “20” pages.
  3. Kellen. You can’t help but love him.

 

Things I Didn’t Like:

  1. Similar Characters. Ren and Adley are basically the same person. I was starting to get them a little confused. Strong, badass women is a common theme now-a-days with multiple people falling in love with them. I wish their personalities were different, especially being the main protagonists.
  2. Magic System. I don’t really understand silver wielding at all or how it came about. If it is so powerful, then why doesn’t Ren have more power? She is always on the run. I understand she is trying to “hide” since it is forbidden for anyone who isn’t in the royal family, but she could easily stand up to them or threaten others with her power. More explanation of the history of silver wielding would’ve been beneficial.
  3. Romance. Too many different love stories. I’d rather focus more on the adventure.

 

Of Silver and Shadow is a story about political intrigue, enemies to lovers, and character growth. People who enjoyed The Gilded Wolves and Six of Crows would enjoy this novel.

Bookish Features

First Lines Friday – May 15, 2020

First Lines Fridays is a weekly feature hosted by Wandering Words. The meme is based on the idea that instead of judging a book by its cover, author, prestige, we judge it instead by its opening line(s). You can check out my review of the book here!

In the long years of his existence, the number of times he had been summoned from Jigoku could be counted on one claw.

 


ABOUT THE BOOK

Night of the Dragon

Title: Night of the Dragon (Shadow of the Fox, #3)
Author: Julie Kagawa
Rating: ★★★★

Master storyteller Julie Kagawa concludes the enthralling journey into the heart of the fantastical Empire of Iwagoto in the third book of the Shadow of the Fox trilogy. As darkness rises and chaos reigns, a fierce kitsune and her shadowy protector will face down the greatest evil of all. A captivating fantasy for fans of Sabaa Tahir, Sarah J. Maas and Marie Lu.

Kitsune shapeshifter Yumeko has given up the final piece of the Scroll of a Thousand Prayers in order to save everyone she loves from imminent death. Now she and her ragtag band of companions must journey to the wild sea cliffs of Iwagoto in a desperate last-chance effort to stop the Master of Demons from calling upon the Great Kami dragon and making the wish that will plunge the empire into destruction and darkness.

Shadow clan assassin Kage Tatsumi has regained control of his body and agreed to a true deal with the devil—the demon inside him, Hakaimono. They will share his body and work with Yumeko and their companions to stop a madman and separate Hakaimono from Tatsumi and the cursed sword that had trapped the demon for nearly a millennium.

But even with their combined skills and powers, this most unlikely team of heroes knows the forces of evil may be impossible to overcome. And there is another player in the battle for the scroll, a player who has been watching, waiting for the right moment to pull strings that no one even realized existed…until now.

Bookish Features

LitJoy Crate March 2020 “Ride or Die” Box

LitJoy Crate

MARCH 2020
RIDE OR DIE


Resized_20200506_102606

March Trading Cards ACOTAR Men (Set of 3)
Rhysand, Cassian, and Azriel
Inspired by the A Court of Thorns and Roses series
@Tamar Vashadze


Resized_20200506_102631

 

 

 

Hunger Games-Inspired Sticky Notes
Maggie Rose

 

 

 


Resized_20200506_102651

 

 

 

 

Shadowhunter-Inspired Passport Holder
Viki Lester

 

 

 


Resized_20200506_102727

Manon & Abraxos Throne of Glass-inspired Booksleeve
Briana Inesta


Resized_20200506_102345

 

 

Quarterly Collectible! Lord of the Rings Teacup and Saucer

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


South Side Serpent Sticker

Resized_20200506_102743


MARCH’S OPTIONAL ADD-ONS

Resized_20200506_102827

 

 

City of Weep
Literary Locations Pin Collection
Erica Sooter

 

 

 

 


Resized_20200506_102904

 

 

Thestral’s Breath
Apothecary Candle Collection
Say Anything Studios and Amanda Klingberg

 


Did you get the LitJoy Crate March 2020 “Ride or Die” Box?
What did you think?

Bookish Features

WWW Wednesday – May 13, 2020

WWW Wednesday is a book blog meme hosted by Taking on a World of Words where bloggers answer three questions:

What are you currently reading?
What did you just finish reading?
What are you going to read next?

Currently Reading:

Of Silver and Shadow

I am currently reading Of Silver and Shadow by Jennifer Gruenke.

Just Finished:

The Court of Miracles

I recently finished reading The Court of Miracles (A Court of Miracles, #1) by Kester Grant.

Reading Next:

Mirage

Next, I will be reading Mirage (Mirage, #1) by Somaiya Daud.

What’s on your WWW Wednesday this week? Be sure to comment below and I’ll check it out!