Bookish Features

WWW Wednesday – May 20, 2020

WWW Wednesday is a book blog meme hosted by Taking on a World of Words where bloggers answer three questions:

What are you currently reading?
What did you just finish reading?
What are you going to read next?

Currently Reading:

Bone Crier's Moon

I am currently reading Bone Crier’s Moon (Bone Grace, #1) by Kathryn Purdie.

Just Finished:

Of Silver and Shadow

I recently finished reading Of Silver and Shadow by Jennifer Gruenke.

Reading Next:

Mirage

Next, I will be reading Mirage (Mirage, #1) by Somaiya Daud.

What’s on your WWW Wednesday this week? Be sure to comment below and I’ll check it out!

Bookish Features

Top 5 Tuesday: Top 5 Opening Lines

Top 5 Tuesday is weekly meme created by the Shanah @ Bionic Book Worm.

  1. They’ve never found the body of the first and only boy who broke my heart.
    And they never will.

The Shadows Between Us, Tricia Levenseller

2. It was one hell of a night to throw away a baby.

In the Bleak Midwinter (The Rev. Clare Fergusson & Russ Van Alstyne Mysteries, #1), Julia Spencer-Fleming

3. There was nothing in the world as magical and terrifying as a girl on the cusp of womanhood.

The Guinevere Deception (Camelot Rising, #1), Kiersten White

4. The gravedigger’s children were troublemakers.

The Bone Houses, Emily Lloyd-Jones

5. Give me the child.

The Girl the Sea Gave Back, Adrienne Young

Bookish Features

First Lines Friday – May 15, 2020

First Lines Fridays is a weekly feature hosted by Wandering Words. The meme is based on the idea that instead of judging a book by its cover, author, prestige, we judge it instead by its opening line(s). You can check out my review of the book here!

In the long years of his existence, the number of times he had been summoned from Jigoku could be counted on one claw.

 


ABOUT THE BOOK

Night of the Dragon

Title: Night of the Dragon (Shadow of the Fox, #3)
Author: Julie Kagawa
Rating: ★★★★

Master storyteller Julie Kagawa concludes the enthralling journey into the heart of the fantastical Empire of Iwagoto in the third book of the Shadow of the Fox trilogy. As darkness rises and chaos reigns, a fierce kitsune and her shadowy protector will face down the greatest evil of all. A captivating fantasy for fans of Sabaa Tahir, Sarah J. Maas and Marie Lu.

Kitsune shapeshifter Yumeko has given up the final piece of the Scroll of a Thousand Prayers in order to save everyone she loves from imminent death. Now she and her ragtag band of companions must journey to the wild sea cliffs of Iwagoto in a desperate last-chance effort to stop the Master of Demons from calling upon the Great Kami dragon and making the wish that will plunge the empire into destruction and darkness.

Shadow clan assassin Kage Tatsumi has regained control of his body and agreed to a true deal with the devil—the demon inside him, Hakaimono. They will share his body and work with Yumeko and their companions to stop a madman and separate Hakaimono from Tatsumi and the cursed sword that had trapped the demon for nearly a millennium.

But even with their combined skills and powers, this most unlikely team of heroes knows the forces of evil may be impossible to overcome. And there is another player in the battle for the scroll, a player who has been watching, waiting for the right moment to pull strings that no one even realized existed…until now.

Bookish Features

LitJoy Crate March 2020 “Ride or Die” Box

LitJoy Crate

MARCH 2020
RIDE OR DIE


Resized_20200506_102606

March Trading Cards ACOTAR Men (Set of 3)
Rhysand, Cassian, and Azriel
Inspired by the A Court of Thorns and Roses series
@Tamar Vashadze


Resized_20200506_102631

 

 

 

Hunger Games-Inspired Sticky Notes
Maggie Rose

 

 

 


Resized_20200506_102651

 

 

 

 

Shadowhunter-Inspired Passport Holder
Viki Lester

 

 

 


Resized_20200506_102727

Manon & Abraxos Throne of Glass-inspired Booksleeve
Briana Inesta


Resized_20200506_102345

 

 

Quarterly Collectible! Lord of the Rings Teacup and Saucer

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


South Side Serpent Sticker

Resized_20200506_102743


MARCH’S OPTIONAL ADD-ONS

Resized_20200506_102827

 

 

City of Weep
Literary Locations Pin Collection
Erica Sooter

 

 

 

 


Resized_20200506_102904

 

 

Thestral’s Breath
Apothecary Candle Collection
Say Anything Studios and Amanda Klingberg

 


Did you get the LitJoy Crate March 2020 “Ride or Die” Box?
What did you think?

Bookish Features

WWW Wednesday – May 13, 2020

WWW Wednesday is a book blog meme hosted by Taking on a World of Words where bloggers answer three questions:

What are you currently reading?
What did you just finish reading?
What are you going to read next?

Currently Reading:

Of Silver and Shadow

I am currently reading Of Silver and Shadow by Jennifer Gruenke.

Just Finished:

The Court of Miracles

I recently finished reading The Court of Miracles (A Court of Miracles, #1) by Kester Grant.

Reading Next:

Mirage

Next, I will be reading Mirage (Mirage, #1) by Somaiya Daud.

What’s on your WWW Wednesday this week? Be sure to comment below and I’ll check it out!

Bookish Features

LitJoy Crate April 2020 “Women Warriors” Box

LitJoy Crate

APRIL 2020
WOMEN WARRIORS


Sorcery of Thorns Inspired Woodmark
@catarinabookdesigns


Resized_20200506_101438

 

 

 

Wonder Woman Fanny Pack

 

 

 


Resized_20200506_101527

 

 

 

 

Mulan-Inspired Chopsticjs and Soy Sauce Dish

 

 

 

 

 

 


Resized_20200506_101615

April Trading Cards
April’s Illuminae (Set of 2)
Hanna Donnelly and Nik Malikov
@niru.sky


GoT Starkbucks Braavos Brew Coffee Cup
@maggie.rose.studio


Resized_20200506_101708

 

 

 

 

LOTR “I AM NO MAN” ENAMEL PIN
@brioandbrandish

 

 


APRIL’S OPTIONAL ADD-ONS

Resized_20200506_101735

 

 

Panem
Literary Locations Pin Collection
@brioandbrandish

 

 

 

 

 


Resized_20200506_101753

 

 

Dragon’s Blood
Apothecary Candle Collection
@sayanythingstudio

 

 

 

 


Did you get the LitJoy Crate April 2020 “Women Warriors” Box?
What did you think?

Bookish Features

First Lines Friday – May 8, 2020

First Lines Fridays is a weekly feature hosted by Wandering Words. The meme is based on the idea that instead of judging a book by its cover, author, prestige, we judge it instead by its opening line(s). You can check out my review of the book here!

“First, do no harm;
King thou may be,
thy divine right to magic
is no cause to be
as wicked as you wish.”

— “The Maidenkeep Cycle,”
                                                  The Matter of Avalon


ABOUT THE BOOK

Wicked As You Wish

Title: Wicked As You Wish (A Hundred Names For Magic, #1)
Author: Rin Chupeco
Rating: ★★

Tala Warnock has little use for magic – as a descendant of Maria Makiling, the legendary Filipina heroine, she negates spells, often by accident. But her family’s old ties to the country of Avalon (frozen, bespelled, and unreachable for almost 12 years) soon finds them guarding its last prince from those who would use his kingdom’s magic for insidious ends.

And with the rise of dangerous spelltech in the Royal States of America; the appearance of the firebird, Avalon’s deadliest weapon, at her doorstep; and the re-emergence of the Snow Queen, powerful but long thought dead, who wants nothing more than to take the firebird’s magic for her own – Tala’s life is about to get even more complicated….

Bookish Features

April 2020 Physical Book Haul

Chain of Gold
Cassandra Clare

*LitJoy Crate Publisher’s Collector’s First Edition of Chain of Gold with color interior front piece depicting the main characters AND a new short story about Will & Tessa’s wedding called “Fairytale of London”, exclusive print artwork by Qistina Khalidah (@qissus), signed bookplate from Cassandra Clare, a BONUS LETTER from a character, written by Cassandra Clare, a LitJoy -commissioned slipcase with art by Kim of @pinktofu_art

 


Chain of Gold
Cassandra Clare


*Completely Redesigned Cover with Golden Foiled Sword and has a Stencil Sprayed Edge, Artwork on the Endpapers, and Bonus Material

Did anyone else get any special edition books this month or any other cool bookish things?