Bookish Features

Waiting on Wednesday – August 7, 2019

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine in which we share a book that we are eagerly anticipating!

Midnight Beauties by Megan Shepherd

Midnight Beauties

From Goodreads:

The witches, beasties, goblins, and Royals return in this spellbinding conclusion to New York Times best-selling author Megan Shepherd’s Grim Lovelies duology.

Ever since she discovered her affinity for magic, seventeen-year-old Anouk has been desperate to become a witch. It’s the only way to save her friends who, like Anouk, are beasties: animals enchanted into humans. But unlike Anouk, the other beasties didn’t make it out of the battle at Montélimar in one piece.

With her friends now trapped in their animal forms, Anouk is forced into a sinister deal involving a political marriage with her sworn enemy, a wicked plot to overthrow London’s fiercest coven of witches, and a deadly trial of fire to become a witch. The price for power has always been steep in the world of the Haute. Now, it will cost Anouk everything.

Wicked and delightful, this spellbinding sequel and conclusion to Grim Lovelies is perfect for fans of The Cruel Prince and The Hazel Wood.

See my review for Grim Lovelies.

Bookish Features

First Lines Friday – August 2, 2019

First Lines Fridays is a weekly feature hosted by Wandering Words. The meme is based on the idea that instead of judging a book by its cover, author, prestige, we judge it instead by its opening line(s). The book I picked today is one that contains a highly  important message, especially with everything we see in YA books these days being. You can check out my review of the book here!

Ask me to spin the finest yarn or thread, and I can do it faster than any man – even with my eyes closed. Yet ask me to tell a lie, and I will stumble and falter to think of one.

I have never had a talent for spinning tales.


ABOUT THE BOOK

spin the dawn

Title: Spin the Dawn (The Blood of Stars, #1)
Author: Elizabeth Lim
Rating: ★★★★★

Project Runway meets Mulan in this sweeping YA fantasy about a young girl who poses as a boy to compete for the role of imperial tailor and embarks on an impossible journey to sew three magic dresses, from the sun, the moon, and the stars.

Maia Tamarin dreams of becoming the greatest tailor in the land, but as a girl, the best she can hope for is to marry well. When a royal messenger summons her ailing father, once a tailor of renown, to court, Maia poses as a boy and takes his place. She knows her life is forfeit if her secret is discovered, but she’ll take that risk to achieve her dream and save her family from ruin. There’s just one catch: Maia is one of twelve tailors vying for the job.

Backstabbing and lies run rampant as the tailors compete in challenges to prove their artistry and skill. Maia’s task is further complicated when she draws the attention of the court magician, Edan, whose piercing eyes seem to see straight through her disguise.

And nothing could have prepared her for the final challenge: to sew three magic gowns for the emperor’s reluctant bride-to-be, from the laughter of the sun, the tears of the moon, and the blood of stars. With this impossible task before her, she embarks on a journey to the far reaches of the kingdom, seeking the sun, the moon, and the stars, and finding more than she ever could have imagined.

Steeped in Chinese culture, sizzling with forbidden romance, and shimmering with magic, this young adult fantasy is pitch-perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas or Renée Ahdieh.

Bookish Features

August 2019 Releases I’m Excited About

August 6th

  • House of Salt and Sorrows by Erin A. Craig
  • Vow of Thieves (Dance of Thieves #2) by Mary E. Pearson
  • Sea Witch Rising (Sea Witch #2) by Sarah Henning

 

August 13th

Midnight Beauties

  • Midnight Beauties (Grim Lovelies #2) by Megan Shepherd

 

August 27th

These Divided Shores

  • These Divided Shores (Stream Raiders #2) by Sara Raasch

Do you plan on reading or buying any of these in August?!

Bookish Features

July 2019 Wrap Up

July

Books Read:

Currently Reading:

Life:

  • My annual 4th of July Party! This year it was Beer Olympics!
  • My sister’s graduation party…playing volleyball for hours!
  • Completed an escape room with my siblings and their significant others. 24% Escape Rate!
    image951(1)
  • Started my second volleyball league this month 🙂

My Posts:

August

Tentative TBR:

Life:

  • Whatever it may bring

What books did you read in July?!

Bookish Features

Waiting on Wednesday – July 31, 2019

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine in which we share a book that we are eagerly anticipating!

House of Salt and Sorrows by Erin A. Craig

House of Salt and Sorrows.jpg

From Goodreads:

In a manor by the sea, twelve sisters are cursed.

Annaleigh lives a sheltered life at Highmoor, a manor by the sea, with her sisters, their father, and stepmother. Once they were twelve, but loneliness fills the grand halls now that four of the girls’ lives have been cut short. Each death was more tragic than the last—the plague, a plummeting fall, a drowning, a slippery plunge—and there are whispers throughout the surrounding villages that the family is cursed by the gods.

Disturbed by a series of ghostly visions, Annaleigh becomes increasingly suspicious that the deaths were no accidents. Her sisters have been sneaking out every night to attend glittering balls, dancing until dawn in silk gowns and shimmering slippers, and Annaleigh isn’t sure whether to try to stop them or to join their forbidden trysts. Because who—or what—are they really dancing with?

When Annaleigh’s involvement with a mysterious stranger who has secrets of his own intensifies, it’s a race to unravel the darkness that has fallen over her family—before it claims her next.

See my review here.

Bookish Features

Top 5 Tuesday: U, V, W, X, Y, Z

Top 5 Tuesday is weekly meme created by the Shanah @ Bionic Book Worm.

 

1. An Anonymous Girl, Greer Hendricks & Sarah Pekannen

2. The Broken Girls, Simone St. James

3. Caraval, Stephanie Garber

4. Delilah: Treacherous Beauty, Angela Hunt

5.  The English Wife, Lauren Willig

 

6. Finale, Stephanie Garber

7. Grace and Fury, Tracy Banghart

8. House of Salt and Sorrows, Erin A. Craig

9. It’s Not Lose Weight to Get Healthy, It’s Get Healthy to Lose WeightEric Berg

10. Jane Eyre, Charlotte Bronte

 

11. Kingdom of Happiness: Living the Beatitudes in Everyday Life, Jeffrey Kirby

12. Legendary, Stephanie Garber

13. The Murder of Roger Ackroyd, Agatha Christie

14. Not That I Could Tell, Jessica Strawser

15. Onyx and Ivory, Mindee Arnett

 

16. The Patriot Bride (Daughters of the Mayflower, #4), Kimberley Woodhouse

17. Quidditch Through the Ages, Kennilworthy Whisp

18. The Raging Ones (The Raging Ones, #1), Krista Ritchie; Becca Ritchie

19. Spin the Dawn (Blood of Stars, #1), Elizabeth Lim

20. These Rebel Waves (Stream Raiders, #1), Sara Raasch

21. The Unforgotten, Laura Powell

22. Viper, Bex Hogan

23. The Wicked King, Holly Black

24. X, TBD

25. You’d Be Mine, Erin Hahn

26. The Zookeeper’s Wife, Diane Ackerman