Bookish Features

First Lines Friday – May 22, 2020

First Lines Fridays is a weekly feature hosted by Wandering Words. The meme is based on the idea that instead of judging a book by its cover, author, prestige, we judge it instead by its opening line(s). You can check out my review of the book here!

New Orleans is a city ruled by the dead.

 


ABOUT THE BOOK

The Beautiful

Title: The Beautiful (The Beautiful, #1)
Author: Renee Ahdieh
Rating: ★★★★

In 1872, New Orleans is a city ruled by the dead. But to seventeen-year-old Celine Rousseau, New Orleans provides her a refuge after she’s forced to flee her life as a dressmaker in Paris. Taken in by the sisters of the Ursuline convent along with six other girls, Celine quickly becomes enamored with the vibrant city from the music to the food to the soirées and—especially—to the danger. She soon becomes embroiled in the city’s glitzy underworld, known as La Cour des Lions, after catching the eye of the group’s leader, the enigmatic Sébastien Saint Germain. When the body of one of the girls from the convent is found in the lair of La Cour des Lions, Celine battles her attraction to him and suspicions about Sébastien’s guilt along with the shame of her own horrible secret.

When more bodies are discovered, each crime more gruesome than the last, Celine and New Orleans become gripped by the terror of a serial killer on the loose—one Celine is sure has set her in his sights . . . and who may even be the young man who has stolen her heart. As the murders continue to go unsolved, Celine takes matters into her own hands and soon uncovers something even more shocking: an age-old feud from the darkest creatures of the underworld reveals a truth about Celine she always suspected simmered just beneath the surface.

At once a sultry romance and a thrilling murder mystery, master storyteller Renée Ahdieh embarks on her most potent fantasy series yet: The Beautiful.

Bookish Features

April 2020 Wrap Up

April

Books Read: 4

Pages Read: 1,599

Currently Reading:

Subscription Boxes:

Life:

  • Started sewing face masks

Resized_20200404_145039(1)

  • Established my Etsy
  • Got myself a Peloton 🙂

My Posts:

May

Tentative TBR:

Life:

  • Finishing up my library
  • April 2020 Paper Pumpkin
  • May 2020 Paper Pumpkin
  • Read a whole lot more!

What books did you read in April?!

Bookish Features

WWW Wednesday – May 20, 2020

WWW Wednesday is a book blog meme hosted by Taking on a World of Words where bloggers answer three questions:

What are you currently reading?
What did you just finish reading?
What are you going to read next?

Currently Reading:

Bone Crier's Moon

I am currently reading Bone Crier’s Moon (Bone Grace, #1) by Kathryn Purdie.

Just Finished:

Of Silver and Shadow

I recently finished reading Of Silver and Shadow by Jennifer Gruenke.

Reading Next:

Mirage

Next, I will be reading Mirage (Mirage, #1) by Somaiya Daud.

What’s on your WWW Wednesday this week? Be sure to comment below and I’ll check it out!

Bookish Features

Top 5 Tuesday: Top 5 Opening Lines

Top 5 Tuesday is weekly meme created by the Shanah @ Bionic Book Worm.

  1. They’ve never found the body of the first and only boy who broke my heart.
    And they never will.

The Shadows Between Us, Tricia Levenseller

2. It was one hell of a night to throw away a baby.

In the Bleak Midwinter (The Rev. Clare Fergusson & Russ Van Alstyne Mysteries, #1), Julia Spencer-Fleming

3. There was nothing in the world as magical and terrifying as a girl on the cusp of womanhood.

The Guinevere Deception (Camelot Rising, #1), Kiersten White

4. The gravedigger’s children were troublemakers.

The Bone Houses, Emily Lloyd-Jones

5. Give me the child.

The Girl the Sea Gave Back, Adrienne Young

Bookish Features

First Lines Friday – May 15, 2020

First Lines Fridays is a weekly feature hosted by Wandering Words. The meme is based on the idea that instead of judging a book by its cover, author, prestige, we judge it instead by its opening line(s). You can check out my review of the book here!

In the long years of his existence, the number of times he had been summoned from Jigoku could be counted on one claw.

 


ABOUT THE BOOK

Night of the Dragon

Title: Night of the Dragon (Shadow of the Fox, #3)
Author: Julie Kagawa
Rating: ★★★★

Master storyteller Julie Kagawa concludes the enthralling journey into the heart of the fantastical Empire of Iwagoto in the third book of the Shadow of the Fox trilogy. As darkness rises and chaos reigns, a fierce kitsune and her shadowy protector will face down the greatest evil of all. A captivating fantasy for fans of Sabaa Tahir, Sarah J. Maas and Marie Lu.

Kitsune shapeshifter Yumeko has given up the final piece of the Scroll of a Thousand Prayers in order to save everyone she loves from imminent death. Now she and her ragtag band of companions must journey to the wild sea cliffs of Iwagoto in a desperate last-chance effort to stop the Master of Demons from calling upon the Great Kami dragon and making the wish that will plunge the empire into destruction and darkness.

Shadow clan assassin Kage Tatsumi has regained control of his body and agreed to a true deal with the devil—the demon inside him, Hakaimono. They will share his body and work with Yumeko and their companions to stop a madman and separate Hakaimono from Tatsumi and the cursed sword that had trapped the demon for nearly a millennium.

But even with their combined skills and powers, this most unlikely team of heroes knows the forces of evil may be impossible to overcome. And there is another player in the battle for the scroll, a player who has been watching, waiting for the right moment to pull strings that no one even realized existed…until now.

Bookish Features

LitJoy Crate March 2020 “Ride or Die” Box

LitJoy Crate

MARCH 2020
RIDE OR DIE


Resized_20200506_102606

March Trading Cards ACOTAR Men (Set of 3)
Rhysand, Cassian, and Azriel
Inspired by the A Court of Thorns and Roses series
@Tamar Vashadze


Resized_20200506_102631

 

 

 

Hunger Games-Inspired Sticky Notes
Maggie Rose

 

 

 


Resized_20200506_102651

 

 

 

 

Shadowhunter-Inspired Passport Holder
Viki Lester

 

 

 


Resized_20200506_102727

Manon & Abraxos Throne of Glass-inspired Booksleeve
Briana Inesta


Resized_20200506_102345

 

 

Quarterly Collectible! Lord of the Rings Teacup and Saucer

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


South Side Serpent Sticker

Resized_20200506_102743


MARCH’S OPTIONAL ADD-ONS

Resized_20200506_102827

 

 

City of Weep
Literary Locations Pin Collection
Erica Sooter

 

 

 

 


Resized_20200506_102904

 

 

Thestral’s Breath
Apothecary Candle Collection
Say Anything Studios and Amanda Klingberg

 


Did you get the LitJoy Crate March 2020 “Ride or Die” Box?
What did you think?