Bookish Features

First Lines Friday – August 9, 2019

First Lines Fridays is a weekly feature hosted by Wandering Words. The meme is based on the idea that instead of judging a book by its cover, author, prestige, we judge it instead by its opening line(s). You can check out my review of the book here!

Caledonia stretched along the prow of the Ghost as the ship sliced through black water. At night, the ocean offered only a dark reflection of the sky above, and the promise of a cold grave below.

 


ABOUT THE BOOK

Seafire

Title: Seafire (Seafire, #1)
Author: Natalie C. Parker
Rating: ★★★

After her family is killed by corrupt warlord Aric Athair and his bloodthirsty army of Bullets, Caledonia Styx is left to chart her own course on the dangerous and deadly seas. She captains her ship, the Mors Navis, with a crew of girls and women just like her, who have lost their families and homes because of Aric and his men. The crew has one mission: stay alive, and take down Aric’s armed and armored fleet.

But when Caledonia’s best friend and second-in-command barely survives an attack thanks to help from a Bullet looking to defect, Caledonia finds herself questioning whether to let him join their crew. Is this boy the key to taking down Aric Athair once and for all . . . or will he threaten everything the women of the Mors Navis have worked for?

Bookish Features

Waiting on Wednesday – August 7, 2019

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine in which we share a book that we are eagerly anticipating!

Midnight Beauties by Megan Shepherd

Midnight Beauties

From Goodreads:

The witches, beasties, goblins, and Royals return in this spellbinding conclusion to New York Times best-selling author Megan Shepherd’s Grim Lovelies duology.

Ever since she discovered her affinity for magic, seventeen-year-old Anouk has been desperate to become a witch. It’s the only way to save her friends who, like Anouk, are beasties: animals enchanted into humans. But unlike Anouk, the other beasties didn’t make it out of the battle at Montélimar in one piece.

With her friends now trapped in their animal forms, Anouk is forced into a sinister deal involving a political marriage with her sworn enemy, a wicked plot to overthrow London’s fiercest coven of witches, and a deadly trial of fire to become a witch. The price for power has always been steep in the world of the Haute. Now, it will cost Anouk everything.

Wicked and delightful, this spellbinding sequel and conclusion to Grim Lovelies is perfect for fans of The Cruel Prince and The Hazel Wood.

See my review for Grim Lovelies.

Book Reviews

Sky in the Deep by Adrienne Young

Sky in the DeepTitle: Sky in the Deep
Author: Adrienne Young
Rating: ★★★★★

Part Wonder Woman, part Vikings—and all heart.

Raised to be a warrior, seventeen-year-old Eelyn fights alongside her Aska clansmen in an ancient rivalry against the Riki clan. Her life is brutal but simple: fight and survive. Until the day she sees the impossible on the battlefield—her brother, fighting with the enemy—the brother she watched die five years ago.

Faced with her brother’s betrayal, she must survive the winter in the mountains with the Riki, in a village where every neighbor is an enemy, every battle scar possibly one she delivered. But when the Riki village is raided by a ruthless clan thought to be a legend, Eelyn is even more desperate to get back to her beloved family.

She is given no choice but to trust Fiske, her brother’s friend, who sees her as a threat. They must do the impossible: unite the clans to fight together, or risk being slaughtered one by one. Driven by a love for her clan and her growing love for Fiske, Eelyn must confront her own definition of loyalty and family while daring to put her faith in the people she’s spent her life hating.

For the first time ever, I adore absolutely every character…besides the bad guys. This is one of those “can’t put down” novels. From the beginning until the end, the reader gets intertwined with the story and the characters start to feel like family. For a debut, Young did amazing. Not only are the protagonists complex, but it seems like every other character in the story is, as well.

vegr yfir fior – honor above life

The relationships are real. Most times, readers are given a perfect relationship between to people and entirely unrealistic. This idea of a flawed, but loving relationship is clearly depicted between Eelyn and her brother, Iri. For her entire life, Eelyn has been taught to put her clan above all, even family and friends. Iri, her brother, died in battle long ago…or so she thought. When she comes to find him not only alive, but immersed in a rival clan, and what she had been taught her entire life starts to unravel. But Eelyn reacts is exactly how any other person would react…she doesn’t instantly forgive him. She feels betrayal, anger, fear, and love.

“I’ll go where you go.”

Probably my favorite character in the entire novel is Fiske. With how protective he is, caring, and understanding, who wouldn’t love him?! He doesn’t give up on anyone and is so positive. I definitely am crushing hard.

Young does a great job of presenting an action-packed story full of emotion, bravery, and adversity. I wish I read this earlier!

Bookish Features

First Lines Friday – August 2, 2019

First Lines Fridays is a weekly feature hosted by Wandering Words. The meme is based on the idea that instead of judging a book by its cover, author, prestige, we judge it instead by its opening line(s). The book I picked today is one that contains a highly  important message, especially with everything we see in YA books these days being. You can check out my review of the book here!

Ask me to spin the finest yarn or thread, and I can do it faster than any man – even with my eyes closed. Yet ask me to tell a lie, and I will stumble and falter to think of one.

I have never had a talent for spinning tales.


ABOUT THE BOOK

spin the dawn

Title: Spin the Dawn (The Blood of Stars, #1)
Author: Elizabeth Lim
Rating: ★★★★★

Project Runway meets Mulan in this sweeping YA fantasy about a young girl who poses as a boy to compete for the role of imperial tailor and embarks on an impossible journey to sew three magic dresses, from the sun, the moon, and the stars.

Maia Tamarin dreams of becoming the greatest tailor in the land, but as a girl, the best she can hope for is to marry well. When a royal messenger summons her ailing father, once a tailor of renown, to court, Maia poses as a boy and takes his place. She knows her life is forfeit if her secret is discovered, but she’ll take that risk to achieve her dream and save her family from ruin. There’s just one catch: Maia is one of twelve tailors vying for the job.

Backstabbing and lies run rampant as the tailors compete in challenges to prove their artistry and skill. Maia’s task is further complicated when she draws the attention of the court magician, Edan, whose piercing eyes seem to see straight through her disguise.

And nothing could have prepared her for the final challenge: to sew three magic gowns for the emperor’s reluctant bride-to-be, from the laughter of the sun, the tears of the moon, and the blood of stars. With this impossible task before her, she embarks on a journey to the far reaches of the kingdom, seeking the sun, the moon, and the stars, and finding more than she ever could have imagined.

Steeped in Chinese culture, sizzling with forbidden romance, and shimmering with magic, this young adult fantasy is pitch-perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas or Renée Ahdieh.

Bookish Features

August 2019 Releases I’m Excited About

August 6th

  • House of Salt and Sorrows by Erin A. Craig
  • Vow of Thieves (Dance of Thieves #2) by Mary E. Pearson
  • Sea Witch Rising (Sea Witch #2) by Sarah Henning

 

August 13th

Midnight Beauties

  • Midnight Beauties (Grim Lovelies #2) by Megan Shepherd

 

August 27th

These Divided Shores

  • These Divided Shores (Stream Raiders #2) by Sara Raasch

Do you plan on reading or buying any of these in August?!

Bookish Features

July 2019 Wrap Up

July

Books Read:

Currently Reading:

Life:

  • My annual 4th of July Party! This year it was Beer Olympics!
  • My sister’s graduation party…playing volleyball for hours!
  • Completed an escape room with my siblings and their significant others. 24% Escape Rate!
    image951(1)
  • Started my second volleyball league this month 🙂

My Posts:

August

Tentative TBR:

Life:

  • Whatever it may bring

What books did you read in July?!