Bookish Features

First Lines Friday – May 24, 2019

First Lines Fridays is a weekly feature hosted by Wandering Words. The meme is based on the idea that instead of judging a book by its cover, author, prestige, we judge it instead by its opening line(s). The book I picked today is one that contains a highly  important message, especially with everything we see in YA books these days being. You can check out my review of the book here!

Every story has four parts: the beginning, the middle, the almost-ending, and the true ending. Unfortunately, not everyone gets a true ending. Most people give up at the part of the story where things are the worst, when the situation feels hopeless, but that is where hope is needed the most. Only those who persevere can find their true ending.

 


ABOUT THE BOOK

Finale

Title: Finale
Author: Stephanie Garber
Rating: ★★★★

Welcome, welcome to Finale, the third and final book in the #1 New York Times bestselling Caraval series!

Welcome, welcome to Caraval…all games must come to an end.

It’s been two months since the last Caraval concluded, two months since the Fates have been freed from an enchanted deck of cards, two months since Tella has seen Legend, and two months since Legend claimed the empire’s throne as his own. Now, Legend is preparing for his official coronation and Tella is determined to stop it. She believes her own mother, who still remains in an enchanted sleep, is the rightful heir to the throne.

Meanwhile, Scarlett has started a game of her own. She’s challenged Julian and her former fiancé, Count Nicolas d’Arcy, to a competition where the winner will receive her hand in marriage. Finaly, Scarlett feels as if she is in complete control over her life and future. She is unaware that her mother’s past has put her in the greatest danger of all.

Caraval is over, but perhaps the greatest game of all has begun―with lives, empires, and hearts all at stake. There are no spectators this time: only those who will win…and those who will lose everything. . .

Book Reviews

The Storm Crow (The Storm Crow #1) by Kaylyn Josephson

The Storm Crow

Title: The Storm Crow (The Storm Crow #1)
Author: Kaylyn Josephson
Rating: ★★★

In the tropical kingdom of Rhodaire, magical, elemental Crows are part of every aspect of life…until the Illucian empire invades, destroying everything.

That terrible night has thrown Princess Anthia into a deep depression. Her sister Caliza is busy running the kingdom after their mother’s death, but all Thia can do is think of all she has lost.

But when Caliza is forced to agree to a marriage between Thia and the crown prince of Illucia, Thia is finally spurred into action. And after stumbling upon a hidden Crow egg in the rubble of a rookery, she and her sister devise a dangerous plan to hatch the egg in secret and get back what was taken from them.

Thia, our protagonist, is daughter to the queen of Rhodaire. And Rhodaire is home to a special kind of magic…elemental crows. Fire crows, storm crows, earth crows, sun crows, you get the picture. These crows are essential to the daily life of those living in Rhodaire.

crow

Thia, the daughter who wants nothing to do with royalty, starts out the story by riding one of these elemental crows…of course getting into trouble. But, soon, Thia will have a crow of her very own.

But things take a turn for the worst before we know it and the Illucians come and set fire to everything in their wake…including the crows and Thia’s mother. Her sister, Caliza is now the new Queen and in order to save Rhodaire, has promised Thia to Prince Ericen in a marriage proposal.

When all hope seems lost of the revival of Rhodaire, Thia comes across a crow egg amongst the rubble. The only problem is, she has no idea how to hatch a crow egg, it being a secret tradition she just barely missed before the destruction of Rhodaire. Caylus, a cute outcast from another overthrown kingdom may be able to help. But no one can find out that they are hiding a crow egg.

crow1

What will happen to the crow egg Thia found? Will she be able to hatch it? Will Rhodaire be restored? Which guy will she choose?

Let me just say, I’m sick of girls getting promised to other princes as their brides by everyone else. Let’s see some other storyline! And girls, stop picking the guys I don’t want you to pick! Ugh! Give me something new. Love triangles are out! Monogamous relationships are in (at least for me)!

The expected publication date is July 9, 2019.

Bookish Features

Waiting on Wednesday – May 22, 2019

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine in which we share a book that we are eagerly anticipating!

Sorcery of Thorns by Margaret Rogerson

sorcery of thornsFrom Goodreads:

All sorcerers are evil. Elisabeth has known that as long as she has known anything. Raised as a foundling in one of Austermeer’s Great Libraries, Elisabeth has grown up among the tools of sorcery—magical grimoires that whisper on shelves and rattle beneath iron chains. If provoked, they transform into grotesque monsters of ink and leather. She hopes to become a warden, charged with protecting the kingdom from their power.

Then an act of sabotage releases the library’s most dangerous grimoire. Elisabeth’s desperate intervention implicates her in the crime, and she is torn from her home to face justice in the capital. With no one to turn to but her sworn enemy, the sorcerer Nathaniel Thorn, and his mysterious demonic servant, she finds herself entangled in a centuries-old conspiracy. Not only could the Great Libraries go up in flames, but the world along with them.

As her alliance with Nathaniel grows stronger, Elisabeth starts to question everything she’s been taught—about sorcerers, about the libraries she loves, even about herself. For Elisabeth has a power she has never guessed, and a future she could never have imagined.

Bookish Features

WWW Wednesday – May 22, 2019

WWW Wednesday is a book blog meme hosted by Taking on a World of Words where bloggers answer three questions: What are you currently reading? What did you just finish reading? What are you going to read next?

Currently Reading:

Circe

I am currently reading Circe by Madeline Miller.

Just Finished:

Esther

I recently finished reading Esther: Royal Beauty by Angela Hunt. This was the April Delilah Box book.

Reading Next:

Shadow of the Fox

Next, I will be reading Shadow of the Fox (Shadow of the Fox, #1) by Julie Kagawa.

What’s on your WWW Wednesday this week? Be sure to comment below and I’ll check it out!

Bookish Features

Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Refuse to Let Anyone Touch

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish and now hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl. I decided to post the first five books based upon actual length. However, the last five novels are books that felt like they took me forever to finish.

1. Finale (OwlCrate Signed, Special Edition), Stephanie Garber

2. The Cruel Prince (OwlCrate Signed, Special Edition), Holly Black

3. The Wicked King (OwlCrate Signed, Special Edition), Holly Black

4. The Wicked King (Barnes & Noble, Special Edition), Holly Black

5. The Queen of Nothing (Barnes & Noble, Special Edition), Holly Black

6. Muse of Nightmares (LitJoy Crate Signed, Special Edition), Laini Taylor

7.Girls of Paper and Fire (FairyLoot Signed, Sprayed Pages, Special Edition), Natasha Ngan

8. Mirage (FairyLoot Signed, Sprayed Pages, Special Edition), Somaiya Daud

9. The Hazel Wood (OwlCrate Signed, Special Edition), Melissa Albert

10. Four Dead Queens (OwlCrate Signed, Special Edition), Astrid Scholte

11. And every other awesome signed edition or sprayed-page book from my monthly subscriptions.

Book Reviews

Viper (Isles of Storm and Sorrow #1) by Bex Hogan

ViperTitle: Viper (Isles of Storm and Sorrow #1)
Author: Bex Hogan
Rating: ★★★★

Marianne has been training to be the Viper for her entire life – to serve and protect the King and the citizens of The Twelve Isles – but to become the Viper and protect the islands she loves she must find the strength to defeat her father. A new fantasy trilogy perfect for fans of Sarah J Maas.

He will make me a killer.
Or he will have me killed.
That is my destiny.

Seventeen-year-old Marianne is fated to one day become the Viper, defender of the Twelve Isles.

But the reigning Viper stands in her way. Corrupt and merciless, he prowls the seas in his warship, killing with impunity, leaving only pain and suffering in his wake.

He’s the most dangerous man on the ocean . . . and he is Marianne’s father.

She was born to protect the islands. But can she fight for them if it means losing her family, her home, the boy she loves – and perhaps even her life?

A brave heroine. An impossible dilemma. An epic new fantasy trilogy set on the high seas.

This story is a blending of the Greyjoys from Game of Thrones and Hunger Games. The different isles signify different ways of life, but the Viper’s crew members are as ruthless as the Greyjoys, specifically Euron, who is willing to betray blood.

Hogan’s debut novel is the epitome of adventure, lust, and betrayal. The perfect pirate read. I loved her world-building. Not only that, but we see a realistic character, with realistic reactions.

The author even pulled a George R.R. Martin twist by killing off one of my favorite characters.

Viper was a telling tale of deceit, love, and the power of good. The Viper was a terrifying and ruthless character, a definite challenge to our peace-seeking Marianne. What will become of the Viper in the next installment? Who is picked in our always-enticing love triangle? I’m excited to see what is next!

Bookish Features

First Lines Friday – May 17, 2019

First Lines Fridays is a weekly feature hosted by Wandering Words. The meme is based on the idea that instead of judging a book by its cover, author, prestige, we judge it instead by its opening line(s). You can check out my review of the book here!

While some rooms on the estate had monsters hiding beneath the beds, Tella swore her mother’s suite concealed enchantment. Hints of emerald light dusted the air as if fairies came to play whenever her mother left. The room smelled of flowers plucked from secret gardens, and even when there wasn’t a breeze, the sheer curtains billowed around the magnificent canopy bed. Above, a citrine chandelier greeted Tella with the musical sounds of kissing glass, making it easy for her to imagine the suite was a bewitched portal to another world.

 


ABOUT THE BOOK

Legendary

Title: Legendary
Author: Stephanie Garber
Rating: ★★★★★

A heart to protect. A debt to repay. A game to win.

After being swept up in the magical world of Caraval, Donatella Dragna has finally escaped her father and saved her sister, Scarlett, from a disastrous arranged marriage. The girls should be celebrating, but Tella isn’t yet free. She made a desperate bargain with a mysterious criminal, and what Tella owes him no one has ever been able to deliver: Caraval Master Legend’s true name.

The only chance of uncovering Legend’s identity is to win Caraval, so Tella throws herself into the legendary competition once more—and into the path of the murderous heir to the throne, a doomed love story, and a web of secrets…including her sister’s. Caraval has always demanded bravery, cunning, and sacrifice, but now the game is asking for more. If Tella can’t fulfill her bargain and deliver Legend’s name, she’ll lose everything she cares about—maybe even her life. But if she wins, Legend and Caraval will be destroyed forever…

Welcome, welcome to Caraval . . . the games have only just begun.