Bookish Features

January 2020 Young Adult Subscription Box Spoilers

FairyLoot
Moon & Stars



About the box:

We are so excited to reveal the January theme for our monthly box and it is… MOON & STARS!

The moon and the stars have been an inspiration to us for many years − they drive our imagination and provide the perfect setting for the greatest stories of all time. With this theme we believe that we found a magical way to kick start 2020!

This box is filled with a fantastic variety of items inspired by the moon and the stars that light up our night skies. Many of the items in this box are fandom neutral, but you can also expect items inspired by Oscar WildeIlluminae and Even The Darkest Stars!

Our featured book of the month is a lush tapestry of magic, romance and revolution, drawing inspiration from Bolivian politics and history. The edition that we are featuring will have an EXCLUSIVE COVERARTWORK ON THE REVERSE OF THE DUST JACKETEMBOSSING and it will be SIGNED by the author. We absolutely adored this book!

This box is NOT available yet. We are currently open for subscriptions starting with the January box and single purchases will be available on January 7th at 1pm BST. If you already have a subscription you can sit back and relax – you will automatically get this box!

My Guess:

7Woven in Moonlight

From Goodreads:

A lush tapestry of magic, romance, and revolución, drawing inspiration from Bolivian politics and history.

Ximena is the decoy Condesa, a stand-in for the last remaining Illustrian royal. Her people lost everything when the usurper, Atoc, used an ancient relic to summon ghosts and drive the Illustrians from La Ciudad. Now Ximena’s motivated by her insatiable thirst for revenge, and her rare ability to spin thread from moonlight.

When Atoc demands the real Condesa’s hand in marriage, it’s Ximena’s duty to go in her stead. She relishes the chance, as Illustrian spies have reported that Atoc’s no longer carrying his deadly relic. If Ximena can find it, she can return the true aristócrata to their rightful place.

She hunts for the relic, using her weaving ability to hide messages in tapestries for the resistance. But when a masked vigilante, a warm-hearted princess, and a thoughtful healer challenge Ximena, her mission becomes more complicated. There could be a way to overthrow the usurper without starting another war, but only if Ximena turns her back on revenge—and her Condesa.


LitJoy Crate
Starry Night
January Theme: Starry Night

About the Box:

This January, the night sky is alight with stars! Slumber into dreams of magical and mysterious things . . . Creep through the city shadows at Truedark . . . Take flight to the second star to the right and straight on till morning! January’s LitJoy products are the stuff that dreams are made of!

About the Book

Can you spot a lie? You’ll need a keen eye this January! Prepare yourself for mystery, alluring magic, a spicy does of romance, and a mystic summoning with our January title! When our protagonist deceives a kingdom, her heart is filled with revenge—her actions calculated and determined. If only she wasn’t distracted by a kind stranger. Though she soon finds out that nobody is truly who they claim to be. January’s book truly is a tapestry of interwoven deception, danger, and passion.

LitJoy Crate Book Customizations

  • Signed by the author
  • Reversible Dust Jacket with artwork by the author!
  • Author Letter & art print separate from the book

January’s Crate is available three ways:

  1. The Full Crate (with book + items)
  2. The Book-Only (with book, no items)
  3. The Item-Only (with items, no book)

The January Starry Night crate ships between January 20th and 25th

We ship internationally.

My Guess:

Woven in Moonlight

From Goodreads:

A lush tapestry of magic, romance, and revolución, drawing inspiration from Bolivian politics and history.

Ximena is the decoy Condesa, a stand-in for the last remaining Illustrian royal. Her people lost everything when the usurper, Atoc, used an ancient relic to summon ghosts and drive the Illustrians from La Ciudad. Now Ximena’s motivated by her insatiable thirst for revenge, and her rare ability to spin thread from moonlight.

When Atoc demands the real Condesa’s hand in marriage, it’s Ximena’s duty to go in her stead. She relishes the chance, as Illustrian spies have reported that Atoc’s no longer carrying his deadly relic. If Ximena can find it, she can return the true aristócrata to their rightful place.

She hunts for the relic, using her weaving ability to hide messages in tapestries for the resistance. But when a masked vigilante, a warm-hearted princess, and a thoughtful healer challenge Ximena, her mission becomes more complicated. There could be a way to overthrow the usurper without starting another war, but only if Ximena turns her back on revenge—and her Condesa.


OwlCrate
Vengeance Will Be Mine

About the Box:

This box is not yet available. Since are currently at capacity for subscriptions we are now operating on a wait list system for new subscriptions. Please click here to join the wait list for the January box. Once more spots open up we will be contacting people on the wait list first in order of when they joined the list.

Our January box is inspired by characters who rise up against those who’ve wronged them, and are seeking revenge at all costs! We are packing this box full of beautiful and useful items! Our book pick for January is a gender-swapped retelling of The Count of Monte Cristo. It features an epic tale of revenge, countless devious plans, ships sailing on the ocean, gritty casinos and more. We fell in love with the characters and the action!

We are including an incredible exclusive edition of the book with a completely different cover design from the regular edition! If you loved the uniqueness of past books we’ve done such as The Cruel Prince or Grace and Fury, you’ll love this! The book will also be signed by the author!

We are super thrilled to announce that this box will include the next mug in our series from artist Cara Kozik, inspired by Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix! Other items will be inspired by The HobbitChildren of Blood and BoneCrooked Kingdom and Nevernight.

My Guess:

Scavenge the Stars

From Goodreads:

When Amaya rescues a mysterious stranger from drowning, she fears her rash actions have earned her a longer sentence on the debtor ship where she’s been held captive for years. Instead, the man she saved offers her unimaginable riches and a new identity, setting Amaya on a perilous course through the coastal city-state of Moray, where old-world opulence and desperate gamblers collide.

Amaya wants one thing: revenge against the man who ruined her family and stole the life she once had. But the more entangled she becomes in this game of deception—and as her path intertwines with the son of the man she’s plotting to bring down—the more she uncovers about the truth of her past. And the more she realizes she must trust no one…

Packed with high-stakes adventure, romance, and dueling identities, this gender-swapped retelling of The Count of Monte Cristo is the first novel in an epic YA fantasy duology, perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas, Sabaa Tahir, and Leigh Bardugo.


Are you purchasing any of these boxes?! Do you agree with my guesses or do you think something else?! Comment and let me know! 🙂

4 thoughts on “January 2020 Young Adult Subscription Box Spoilers”

      1. Absolutely! That book was a complete mindbend. I blame mismarketing for the the mixed reviews. That and the structure. The structure is very divisive. It isn’t for everyone. You like it or you don’t

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s