Bookish Features

September Young Adult Subscription Box Spoilers

FairyLoot
Witches Be Crazy

september fairyloot

About the box:

We are so excited to reveal the September theme for our monthly box and it is… WITCHES BE CRAZY!

You guessed it − everything in this box is inspired by witches. We’re doing things a little differently for this box, as most of the items are going to be fandom-neutral but perfect for your dark witchy hearts! As the saying goes… if the broom fits, fly it!

We have been so excited to reveal this theme to you guys and we’re really proud of all the items curated, it’s going to be jam-packed! For now, we’re only going to reveal that this box will have a stunning large tote bag designed by @bandofweirdos! We absolutely love their style, it’s got such a fun and witchy vibe!

Our book of the month is very highly anticipated and early reviewers have been raving about it. The story follows a witch and witch hunter who are forced to marry each other − expect romance, witty banter, magic, betrayal and more! This is definitely not one to be missed.

The edition will also be a FairyLoot exclusive − it will have SHIMMERY SPRAYED EDGESARTWORK ON THE REVERSE OF THE DUST JACKET and it will be SIGNED BY THE AUTHOR! We seriously cannot wait for you to see it!

My Guess:

Serpent and Dove

From Goodreads:

Bound as one to love, honor, or burn.

Two years ago, Louise le Blanc fled her coven and took shelter in the city of Cesarine, forsaking all magic and living off whatever she could steal. There, witches like Lou are hunted. They are feared. And they are burned.

Sworn to the Church as a Chasseur, Reid Diggory has lived his life by one principle: thou shalt not suffer a witch to live. His path was never meant to cross with Lou’s, but a wicked stunt forces them into an impossible union—holy matrimony.

The war between witches and Church is an ancient one, and Lou’s most dangerous enemies bring a fate worse than fire. Unable to ignore her growing feelings, yet powerless to change what she is, a choice must be made.

And love makes fools of us all.

 


LitJoy Crate
Haunted Manor

April Theme Image Born Rebel

About the box:

A haunting we will go! September with LitJoy is a step into the supernatural—a celebration of the ghost-like, the mystical, and the eerie! We have gathered a group of the most iconic and beloved spooky fandoms to create a crate that you will not forget! Indeed, our September theme of Haunted Manor is no nightmare, but a dream come true!

About the Book

Step with us into a mansion that breathes magic and offers safety in its secret spaces. In our September title, rumors of treason grow like thorny vines. Homes and hearts succumb to dilapidation. And a hero rises above everything she has ever known to face down the forces that may very well be her destruction. Packed with magic, mystery, luscious world-building, and a gothic atmosphere, September’s title is perfect for your first fall read!

Perfect for fans of  The Wicked Deep, Practical Magic, Dark Fairytales

LitJoy Crate Book Customizations

  • Signed by the author
  • Reversible Dust Jacket Artwork
  • Tip-in Page Artwork
  • Author Letter & art print separate from the book

About the Items

In this crate, you’ll find items representing these fandoms:

  • The Nightmare Before Christmas
  • Addams Family
  • Disney’s Haunted Mansion
  • Coraline
  • Ghostbusters
  • Illuminae Files

September’s Crate is available three ways:

  1. The Full Crate (with book + items)
  2. The Book-Only (with book, no items)
  3. The Item-Only (with items, no boo)

The Haunted Manor Crate ships between September 20th and 25th

We ship internationally.

My Guess:

A Treason of Thorns

From Goodreads:

Violet Sterling has spent the last seven years in exile, longing to return to Burleigh House. One of the six great houses of England, Burleigh’s magic always kept the countryside well. And as a child, this magic kept Violet happy, draping her in flowers while she slept, fashioning secret hiding places for her, and lighting fires on the coldest nights to keep her warm.

Everything shattered, though, when her father committed high treason trying to free Burleigh from the king’s oppressive control. He was killed, and Vi was forced into hiding.

When she’s given a chance to go back, she discovers Burleigh has run wild with grief. Vines and briars are crumbling the walls. Magic that once enriched the surrounding countryside has turned dark and deadly, twisting lush blooms into thorns, poisoning livestock and destroying crops. Burleigh’s very soul is crying out in pain.

Vi would do anything to help, and soon she finds herself walking the same deadly path as her father all those years before. Vi must decide how far she’s willing to go to save her house—before her house destroys everything she’s ever known.

Content warnings are available via the author’s website.

 


OwlCrate
Fear the Night

About the box:

Let’s get spooky! Next month’s box is a delight of frights – perfect for this time of year. Our book pick for the month is a very unique and atmospheric tale involving a gravedigger, a mapmaker and the undead. It’s not a horror novel, but it’s definitely creepy and will get you in the mood for October. We’ll be including a gorgeous exclusive edition with an exclusive cover, and the book will be signed by the author!

You can also expect a bunch of awesome goodies inspired by classic scary stories as well as some really wonderful items not tied to fandoms. If you’re a fan of autumn, ghost stories and Halloween this is the perfect box for you!

My Guess:

The Bone Houses

From Goodreads:

Seventeen-year-old Aderyn (“Ryn”) only cares about two things: her family, and her family’s graveyard. And right now, both are in dire straits. Since the death of their parents, Ryn and her siblings have been scraping together a meager existence as gravediggers in the remote village of Colbren, which sits at the foot of a harsh and deadly mountain range that was once home to the fae. The problem with being a gravedigger in Colbren, though, is that the dead don’t always stay dead.

The risen corpses are known as “bone houses,” and legend says that they’re the result of a decades-old curse. When Ellis, an apprentice mapmaker with a mysterious past, arrives in town, the bone houses attack with new ferocity. What is it about Ellis that draws them near? And more importantly, how can they be stopped for good?

Together, Ellis and Ryn embark on a journey that will take them deep into the heart of the mountains, where they will have to face both the curse and the long-hidden truths about themselves.

 


 

Special Editions

 

OwlCrate
Call Down the Hawk

We are so thrilled to announce that we will be doing a limited edition box in celebration of the release of Call Down the Hawk by Maggie Stiefvater!

The box will include an exclusive edition of Call Down the Hawk, with a gorgeousexclusive cover. The book will also be signed by Maggie Stiefvater! Did you know that Maggie Stiefvater is not only an incredible writer, but is also a very talented artist? We are SO excited to share that our edition of Call Down the Hawk will include exclusive artwork by Maggie on the back of the dust jacket!! Ahhh!!!

What else can you expect to find in this box? A collection of beautiful items inspired by Call Down the Hawk (and which fans of the original Raven Cycle series will also love). Each item has been approved by Maggie! Many of the items are cozy, wearable and perfect for the chilly months! We can’t wait to share some sneak peeks soon!

September 8, 2019 at 8:00am PST
$39.99 USD plus shipping

 

 

OwlCrate
Faerie Dwelling

We are so excited to share that we will also be doing a limited edition box in celebration of the release of The Queen of Nothing by Holly Black!

The box will include an exclusive edition of The Queen of Nothing, with a cover that will match the previous OwlCrate exclusive editions of The Cruel Prince and The Wicked King. The book will also be signed by Holly Black!

What else can you expect to find in this box? A collection of beautiful home goods and decor, perfect for using to create your own faerie dwelling! Every item is officially licensed and designed in collaboration with Holly Black. She has given wonderful insight and feedback into every single item, and we know fans are going to love the unique goodies we’ve selected (many of which we’ve never included in a box before). We’re working with many incredible artists on these goodies and we can’t wait to share some sneak peeks in the coming weeks. There will be approximately 10 items in this box!

Email sent September 15, 2019 to all active subscribers containing the date/time of when boxes go on sale later in September
$39.99 USD plus shipping

 

 

LitJoy Crate
Magical Edition Year 7, Part 1

LitJoy Crate

Available September 10, 2019 at 1am MST
$99 USD Free U.S. Shipping

 

 

FairyLoot
Into the Crooked Place

It’s time for another exciting reveal! We are so thrilled to present to you an exclusive edition of INTO THE CROOKED PLACE by @alexandrachristowrites! This is the first book in her new duology, filled with gangsters, magic and twists. We absolutely adored Alexandra’s previous book, TO KILL A KINGDOM, so we knew we wanted to do something special to celebrate her newest release.
🖤
This edition is a FairyLoot exclusive – it has an UNIQUE COVER (red instead of purple!), STENCIL SPRAYED EDGES and will by SIGNED by Alexandra! The standard UK edition is only available in paperback, but this will be a hardcover edition. We’re planning on making a matching edition of the sequel, and everyone that purchases this edition will get special access to purchase the matching edition in 2020.
🖤
The books will ship out around mid October (publication date for this book is October 8th).

Available September 14, 2019 at 1pm BST
£16.99 + shipping.

 

FairyLoot
Caraval Deluxe Edition Set

This exclusive set will feature totally redesigned editions of all of the books in the Caraval series: CaravalLegendary and Finale. They will not match any existing editions of this series! So what exactly is special and different about these editions? Well, we’re glad you asked:

  • TOTALLY NEW COVERS. Caraval features an hourglass, Legendary features the Prince of Hearts, and Finale features Legend. All of the gold areas will be foiled!
  • NEW SECRET COVERS UNDERNEATH THE DUST JACKET. We aren’t showing you what these are because it’s a surprise, but everyone will get the same three secret covers. All we’re saying is that it’s gorgeous when you line up all three books…
  • SPRAYED CRIMSON EDGES. Scarlett’s (one of the protagonists in the series) nickname is Crimson, so we felt like this was very fitting!
  • MATCHING SPINES THAT LINE UP. When you put all three books together, the spines will line up and read ‘CARAVAL’.
  • SIGNED BY STEPHANIE. Every single book in the set will be signed.
  • CUSTOM DESIGNED ENDPAPERS. If you don’t know what endpapers are, you can find out more about them here.

We have been working on these special editions with Stephanie for months to perfect the design for each edition. This is the ultimate set for fans of this series!

Available September 21, 2019 at 1pm BST
£63 GBP plus shipping

 


Are you purchasing any of these boxes?! Do you agree with my guesses or do you think something else?! Comment and let me know! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s